

Volume 56 November 7, 2022

## SCA Israel Quiz

1. Which party's bloc won the majority in the Knesset?

a. Likud

b. Yesh Atid

2. When was the party Likud founded?

a. 1948c. 1977

b. 1973d. 1982

3. Which party formed the majority of the Likud bloc in 1973?

a. Herut

b. Mapam

c. Shas

d. Agudah

4. Which political party held the majority bloc in the Knesset from 1948 until 1977?

a. Likud

b. Yesh Atid

c. Labor

d. None of the above

5. Which political leader was the first Likud member to become Prime Minister?

a. Menachem Begin

b. Ze'ev Jabotinsky

c. Yitzchak Shamir

d. Ariel Sharon

6. True or False: Yesh Atid got more votes in this election than in the last.

a. True

b. False

7. Did Ayelet Shaked's party, Bayit Yehudi, pass the threshold?

a. Yes

b. No

8. Who said, "Israelis want peace and security, and Palestinians want peace and justice - these are two very different things, and this is the real gap we have to close."

a. Binyamin Netanyahu

b. Yair Lapid

c. Ben Gvir

d. Naftali Bennett

Food for Thought @ Your Shabbat Table: Should Binyamin Netanyhau designate a successor and resign before the next elections?

## Answers:

- 1. (c) Likud's bloc won 65 seats in the current election, with Likud winning 32 votes. Right wing parties that entered the previous coalition lost significant seats, as did the Arab party, Balad, which was against the previous coalition. Ra'am, the Arab party in the previous coalition, received 5 seats.
- 2. (b) The Likud party was founded in 1973 as a coalition of several right wing parties.
- 3. (a) Herut was the majority party of the Likud in 1973. It was the party of Revisionist Zionists and had served in several unity governments which were formed when there was a national crisis.
- 4. (c) The Labor Party, which was headed by David Ben Gurion for 14 years, held the majority in the Knesset during the beginning years of the state. Bibi Netanyahu is the only person to have served as Prime Minister longer than BenGurion.
- 5. (a) Menachem Begin, founding leader of the Likud, was the first to hold the office of Prime Minister from that party. Ariel Sharon, originally part of the Likud formed a new political party, a break away, Kadima, which no longer exists.
- 6. (a) Yesh Atid had 17 seats in the previous election and won 24 seats in the current Knesset.
- 7. (b) No, Bayit Yehudi did not pass the threshold. Ayelet Shaked will not be serving in the current Knesset.
- 8. (b) Yair Lapid said this regarding his parties mission.